Illinois Car Insurance
Currently, Illinois law requires each car owner to carry minimum liability insurance totaling $20,000 dollars. Most minimum insurance policies in Illinois are 20/40 policies. That means there is $20,000 of insurance coverage to each person in a car and $40,000 in total for each claim if there is more than one person injured in the car crash. This minimum requirement in my opinion is not adequate protection for Illinois drivers. I am routinely asked, “how do you protect yourself from a driver who has no insurance or minimum insurance?” The answer is, by purchasing enough uninsured or underinsured coverage. Normally, the UM/UIM coverage, as it known in the insurance industry, is purchased in the same amount as liability insurance. We recommend that everybody in Illinois carry at least a 250,000/$500,000 UM/UIM policy.
Unfortunately, several times a year I have to explain to severely injured clients that the person who caused the car crash has little or no insurance, and that their underinsured / uninsured coverage was not adequate to cover medical bills, lost wages, and injuries sustained in the crash. As a result of the crash, through no fault of their own, not only will they have to suffer pain while recovering from the physical injuries, they’ll be stuck paying the medical bills and lost wages as the result of the crash, which may force them into liquidating their assets or even into backruptcy. All of this misery could have been avoided by purchasing adequate uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, which is relatively inexpensive compared to the benefits it provides versus the cost of regular collision insurance. Again, we recommend a policy of at least $250,000/$500,000, which means there is $250,000 worth of coverage for each person and $500,000 per occurrence.